I have been happily running Ubuntu Server 24.04 on a Dell PowerEdge T520. I have backed up everything to my NAS (I hope). Then I ran, on the console; sudo apt update sudo apt upgrade -y sudo do-release-upgrade The do-release-upgrade set off, and prompt me about signing up for future Ubuntu announcements. Then it asked me: Continue [yN] I entered "y", and it gave me about a screen and a half of stuff it was doing and finally said it was Reading...
Originally asked by James Martin on Stack Exchange (askubuntu) (CC BY-SA 4.0).